The Internet has brought many changes into our day to day life. Nowadays we are doing things such as mailing, contacting, banking and communication much faster. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

The increasing widespread use of modern technologies has facilitated the development of online applications. As such, there has been a progressive acceleration in the speed of telecommunication and virtual transactions worldwide while the shift towards communicating and banking on the Internet may cause some problems, the overall impact has been tremendously positive.

Admittedly, the drawbacks of remote contacting and transacting are evident. Chief of those is the raising concerns among e-citizens regarding cyber security threats. This is because the more popular this development is, the more private information is spreaded on the Internet, and it paves the way for hackers to steal that information. To make the problem worse, that information can usually be purchased by either fraud companies or scammers to scam or blackmail Internet users. Take Vietnam, for example, where a significant number of residents have been taken advantage of by some so-called “bank clerks”. Those scammers, having leaked information at hand, effortlessly gained trust from victims, hence, ultimately deceived the victims to send the money. Noticeably, with the quick speed of telecommunication and banking systems, frauds can be carried out in seconds. Additionally, anonymous immediate communication on social platforms emboldens individuals to engage in harmful activities, such as cyber bullying or harassment.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, the benefits of the trend towards contacting and banking remotely are more crucial. Regarding the former, instant messaging and social media platforms, including WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter facilitate real time interaction. To illustrate, people can easily share daily photos and videos of their life and the users can interact through comments or likes. This fosters a bond between people and people without time consuming face-to-face meetings. On a business level, it is the unparalleled convenience and accessibility technologies offered.

Unlike traditional payment methods which may be restricted by geographical boundaries and office hours, online transactions allow businesses and their customers to operate 24/7 from anywhere in the world. These factors would optimistically affect citizens and businesses over well-being leading to stronger bonds and higher productivity.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of telecommunication and transaction via the Internet outstrip the disadvantages. This is provided that virtual citizens limit their personal information over sharing as well as report cases of cyber bullying.