The Internet has brought many changes into our day to day life. Nowadays we are doing things such as mailing, contacting, banking and communication much faster. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

The increasing widespread use of modern technologies has facilitated the development of online applications. As such, there has been a notable acceleration in the speed of telecommunication and virtual transactions worldwide. While the shift toward online communication and banking may pose some challenges, its overall impact has been tremendously positive.

Admittedly, the drawbacks of remote communication and transactions are evident. Chief among these are the rising concerns among e-citizens regarding cybersecurity threats. This is because the more popular online services become, the more personal information is shared on the Internet, which paves the way for hackers to steal that information. To exacerbate the problem, leaked information is often sold to fraudulent companies or scammers, who use it to deceive or blackmail Internet users. Take Vietnam, for example, where a significant number of residents have fallen victim to so-called “bank clerks”. These scammers, having accurate personal information at hand, effortlessly gained trust of victims, hence persuading them to send money. Noticeably, with the rapid speed of telecommunication and banking systems, fraud can be executed in seconds without leaving any traces. Moreover, anonymous immediate communication on social platforms emboldens individuals to engage in harmful activities, such as cyberbullying or harassment.

Despite the aforementioned demerits, the benefits of the trend toward communicating and banking remotely are more substantial. Regarding the former, instant messaging and social media platforms, including WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter enable real-time interaction. For instance, people can easily share daily photos and videos of their lives, and users can interact through comments or likes. This fosters connections between individuals without the need for time-consuming face-to-face meetings. On a business level, the unparalleled convenience and accessibility that modern technologies provide cannot be overlooked. Unlike traditional payment methods, which may be restricted by geographical boundaries and office hours, online transactions allow businesses and their customers to operate 24/7 from anywhere in the world. These factors would optimistically influence citizens’ and businesses’ well-being, leading to stronger relationships and increased productivity.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of telecommunication and transactions outweigh the disadvantages. However, this is provided that virtual citizens limit the oversharing of information and report cases of cyberbullying and harassment.