The internet is a valuable source of information and has given people the opportunity to gain knowledge. Is all information on the internet reliable? What can be done to control information online? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since its inception, networking has brought essential information for many individuals to become more educated. This essay will elaborate on where the internet presumes to be valid and measures that can be taken to dispose of the misleading/irrelevant content from the websites.

Nowadays, almost everyone uploads on the website any content they choose without any formal regulations. Therefore, the result has been the creation of the websites which may contain any terrific and not verified information and quite often promote personal and political agendas. As an example, there is a widespread section and websites that contain violence and inappropriate content that can be easily seen by children and young people. The records of the lethal accidents that involve internet content are not a rare thing, often this situation happens because the sites have not been banned in time and attempted to discredit, which hampered the spread of disinformation.

Several countries also have existing laws that prohibit sites that prejudice against society and politicians, but these laws should be extended in order to prevent the spread of false information online. For instance, the government should legally verify the information on their discussion website by a specific impartial body and those people who do not follow the policies will be excluded from the chat or be banned. Fines and imprisoners should be imposed to deter others from committing the same offenses. Alternatively, there also can be a solution to display the content warnings or a captcha app to detect if there is a human or machine.

In conclusion, because of the lack of control under peoples uploads and policy requirements many sites contain misinformation. It is certain that it is the government’s responsibility to detect the published content and ensure that the people are protected from malpractice and witness appropriate measures to prevent it.