The Internet is generally considered as a blessing for mankind. Do the advantages of it out- weigh its disadvantages?

The Internet has revolutionised the world dynamically over the past few decades. It has been hailed as a boon for all sections of mankind in a wide variety of ways. However, this is not to say that it is without blemishes. This essay is an attempt to evaluate whether its benefits are greater than its drawbacks or not.

On the positive side, the Internet is an excellent aid to study. For example, students can refer to any information instantly and prepare their projects at ease. In the case of adults,telecommuting is a blessing, which can save them a lot of commuting and stress and tension at the work place. E-mail, E-shopping, E-banking all have changed the social scenario unrecogniz ably. E-commerce, which has been made hazzle-free by the Internet, has boosted the economies of several developing nations to a great extent. Perhaps, another feather to the cap of the Internet is greater cooperation and understanding among the nations of the world by way of globalisation.

On the negative side, however, the Internet can be harmful in many ways . In ternet games, for instance, can distract students from their studies. Their sedentary life leads to a number of lifestyle illnesses. Pornographic sites can mislead children. Moving on to the more serious dangers of the Internet, cyber crimes are rampant and this technology is being extensively exploited by terrorists to perpetuate violence and lawlessness.

Briefly, it can be established that the merits of the internet are numerous and they certainly out- weigh its demerits. The negative aspects of it are, no doubt, severe. But once they are overcome. the Internet can certainly be termed as a blessing for mankind.