The job market today is very competitive and it is best to choose a career or field of study early in order to get a good job later in life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the competitive job market these days, there is a belief choosing a career or field to learn at an early age is the most viable way in order to get a good career in the future. Personally, I disagree completely with this viewpoint and will analyze my perspective in this essay.

Admittedly, choosing an occupation early to study ensures students have more specialized knowledge as they have more time to study deeply in a certain major, facilitating better academic performance. This will be beneficial for students’ job opportunities in the future as many companies are now hiring fresh graduates with high academic results and also organizing competitions such as management trainees to find potential employees who have good specialized knowledge.

However, favoring a certain major at an early age to study can be wrong as young learners are unable to fully understand their characteristics and personalities which are whether suitable for their future job or not. Students will encounter many obstacles when learning a major that is not suited to them, adversely affecting their academic achievement and future careers.

Therefore, I contend that in order to be competent and get a better job in life, people should choose a career or field of study during the adult period when they are fully aware of their personalities as well as their strengths and weaknesses. The pertinent example for this is that many high school graduates in Germany usually take a gap year before entering the university in order to gain practical experience, thereby raising their self-awareness and future career orientation. As a result, they are able to choose a proper career and excel in their major more easily, which enables them to have better job opportunities in the future.

In conclusion, although studying a major early can be beneficial in terms of having more time to learn, I believe that the drawback behind this option is more significant, and instead, individuals should favor a career later in life when they are mature enough to avoid choosing inappropriate major and get a better job in the future.