The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don’t really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that the main purpose of advertisement is to push the sale of items that consumers do not have a demand for. Despite the potential downside of commercials, I strongly disagree with the statement given believing that product marketing has many other important roles nowadays.

From my point of view, instead of merely trying to lure people into buying unnecessary items, advertising plays an essential part in introducing new products to the market and capturing the customer’s demands. Firstly, marketing will help raise awareness for new product launches, by getting potential customers exposed to the products continually. Then, when the shoppers see these items in stores, they will have the intention to pick them for trial, which will bring new sources of revenue for companies.

Secondly, advertising will help the company create demands which link to the shopper’s concerns. The marketing department will do the research to define the latest trends or the needs of consumers to create suitable content and attract them to the firm’s products. For example, back in the day, many people were scared of the chemicals in fabric conditioner products that may harm their children’s skin. To capture these conscious consumers, Unilever company advertised a sensitive product called Comfort for sensitive skin-friendly babies that was approved by Pasteur’s quality test. Thanks to advertising, consumers can easily approach quality products that truly meet their needs and wants.

In conclusion, advertising is an effective tool not only for companies to bring more sales and create demands but also allows consumers to buy good products that are suitable for their needs.