The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that the main reason of promotion is to increase people’s purchases on the products which they do not really need. In my opinion, advertising has a lot of other cases of using, and it may be helpful to people.

Nowadays, there is not even one company, that does not distribute their items, don’t matter where: in a social media, at the streets, and others. Mostly, they do it in a social media, like TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, where almost everyone spends their free time. So, it enables individuals to easily identify the products or services they require at a specific moment. For example, someone is looking for a cleaning services on Instagram and cannot find exactly what he needs. But then, he encounters an advertisement for the opportunity he had been searching for. And this is the most significant reason of matter of the advertising.

A lot of marketing pages indicate the features of the product they sell. Features like size, colour, height, material, cost, appraisals and more. This internal are important for people understanding and rating, so they can make their choices better and more planned. The best example is choice of clothes. Appraisals help customers to avoid the product of bad quality, because previous buyers pointed out their opinions by leaving a photo, or writing commentaries. And that is also one of the main aims why advertising is not about cramming products.

In conclusion, promotions’ main aim is not sell to people items they do not need. It also contains many other useful options people need.