The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

Nowadays, although the manufacturing and use of cars negatively impacts the environment, there is still an increase in their popularity due to various reasons including people’s demands and economic growth. However, this alarming problem still needs to be controlled with significant solutions.

Firstly, the rise in manufacture and use of cars is a result of people’s demands. Having a car comes along with advantageous functions that provide users with comfortable experiences, especially in travelling. To illustrate, when people own a car, it would be more flexible, time-saving compared to other vehicles like buses or bicycles. Moreover, economic development also affects customers and car companies. For car users, since their income was going up, the price would be more affordable with various choices, incentives that catches people’s attention. For manufacturing, with the popularity increasing, they can mass produce and lower the budget in the process while still having potential to compete with other companies.

Nevertheless, the environment was being damaged from this advancement so considering some solutions is necessary. Firstly, there should be an improvement in public transport to reduce the number of people who depend on cars. For example, some buses in Vietnam are now being upgraded with new features, consisting of tracking apps or expanded seats with high-quality services, making it more enjoyable and suitable for passengers’ demands. Additionally, the government also plays an important role in controlling the number of cars being produced. Some countries are now switching to electric cars such as Tesla in America or Vinfast in Vietnam. Government also restrict the vehicle’s entry with higher taxes for high emissions vehicles, raising awareness of pollution for drivers.

In conclusion, people’s needs and economic enhancement are two main reasons that boost the popularity of manufacturing and use of cars despite its harmful effects. Therefore, focusing on improving public vehicles and government actions can be a compelling resolution for the matter.