The mass media including television, radio and newspaper have great influence in shaping ideas. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this era, people use media for different purposes. It can let us connect with our loved ones as well as with the public, Additionally, it offers the convenience of understanding the issues around us with no place restrictions. However, as the demand rises, people tend to rely on these media, leading to a perennial problem.

Firstly, as technology is widespread, the number of mass media that are prone to bias will increase because these media want to enhance their audience capacity. In other words, they want to catch the public’s eye and earn more revenue. For instance, news, television, and radio are part of the business industry, and providing biased insight, and false information would make their profits rocket.

Additionally, some politicians would control and cooperate with this industry, to campaign and to persuade partisans to vote for them during elections, which means favoritism is included. For example, in the Philippines, all of the politicians have their own social media accounts, sharing their perspectives as well as campaigning, while others own a radio podcast, like Raffy Tulfo, helping underprivileged people find justice; however, it tends to be biased.

A solution would be the implementation of stricter regulation of internet usage. The government should ensure that every article posted is examined by professionals before publication. Moreover, social media should report and ban posts with sensitive information. If these solutions are not obeyed, the government has the right to impose fines for industries and people spreading false information.

In conclusion, biased media is an issue that impacts each individual in this society, although we can fix this by starting to spread two-sided opinions and not being reliant on the media. With this, we can create a world that promotes equality and justice for everyone.