The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that the inclusion of more stories that reflect positive news is beneficial and should be done by the media. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some benefits when the media can include more positive news in their stories. Nowadays, the pressure of modern life, including the demand for making money and learning, may lead to many mental health problems among ordinary people. As a result, if the media can include more coverage for stories that can inspire and motivate, the chance of people having mental disorders, such as depression or anxiety, would reduce. This would help our society work more productively and enhance people’s quality of living.

Including more positive stories, on the other hand, may have some drawbacks that require additional attention.The ultimate goal of media coverage is to provide transparent information that can help audiences make accurate decisions for their lives. If media outlets strongly favor positive stories, they may give their audiences a false outlook of the future. For instance, purchasing stocks may require a comprehensive understanding of the current economic conditions, and the inclusion of too much positive news may make it hard for people to make a good decision.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether the media should include more positive stories , I believe that this should be done in a controlled manner. While such an approach can help people feel mentally better, it may lead to a misunderstanding and can lead people to false decisions.