The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common view that the media should promote more content that informs about positive news. While uploading more good news can make society more cheerful and less focused on miserable news, I also contend that society should be informed about what is occurring globally, whether it is bad or good.

For one thing, it is true that more involvement of good news in social media can bring happiness to people’s lives rather than content which only promotes negative news. A relevant illustration is the case of the period of COVID-19. According to statistics, the population of the countries, in which the media involved more good and inspiring news, such as the increasing number of people who were getting better or the discovery of treatment for that disease, had fewer difficulties overcoming that issue. One compelling reason for this view is that people often feel psychologically calm and tranquil when they are surrounded by good news, a feeling which gives people hope to improve.

Nonetheless, I acknowledge that however pleasurable good news is, the community should also be aware of bad news in order to prevent problematic issues and reduce the likelihood of making the same mistake again in the long term. Although bad news might bring depression or tension to people’s lives, it makes it easier to solve issues and find alternatives. For instance, without giving information about a road accident and its negative consequences, the media cannot prevent other people from driving dangerously under the influence of alcohol. Because people usually change their bad behaviors when problems start to affect them directly or when they see how big issues can emerge due to such carelessness in the long run. Therefore, although some people might not admit it, bad news also plays an irreplaceable role in demonstrating to society how bad things can happen if they continue to consider life a paradise where people live full of happiness.

Ultimately, while it is understandable why positive news is more favorable among people, it seems reasonable to state that bad news can teach people how big issues can arise when people are careless about the downsides of life and imagine it as a world full of happiness. score