The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some are of the opinion that the media should consist more of positive news. I completely agree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, adamant supporters of spreading more good news have some reason that can not be ignored. One of the most conspicuous ones is that today’s digital era is increasingly saturated, as the widespread use of unofficial news sources arduously makes individuals to categorize information. If more good news are reported, this can change people’s behaviors and cognitives by promoting optimism and encouraging prosocial actions like volunteering or helping others when it comes to absorbing positive information. As for the supporters of the proposition, more emphasis should be laid on promoting mental wellbeing, their principle account is that constant exposure to negative news, such as crimes or conflicts, can increase stress and anxiety. Conversely, good news stories like humanity or innovation can lift people’s spirits and promote a balanced mental state.

On the other hand, the excessive ubiquity of positive information in the media may backfire if audiences tend to perceive the content as unrealistic or biased. Viewers may then skeptically raise concerns about the credibility and transparency outlets. In particular, individuals or influencers who perform perfectly might be genuinely well-intentioned, but if they repeatedly appear in the media platforms, the public may suspect that such exposure is driven by self-promotion or strategic public relations.

From what has been discussed above, my conclusion is that the widespread use of good news benefits the media world by generating optimism, fostering constructive behaviour, and reinforcing mental healthcare. However, it may also trigger public skepticism if perceived as insincere or manipulative. In the absence of firm and consistent content control and information quality, the media industry risks losing its reliability and failing to deliver balanced, trustworthy information to the general public.