The most common solution for criminal behavior prison, but many believe education is a better method. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

While prison is increasingly common in most nations to address the problems of incarceration, providing a better education for people is considered to be another effective measure. Personally, I totally disagree with this idea.

Granted, offering a better education for offenders could tackle several problems of crime. When people do not have any social responsibilities as a result of a lack of quality education, they might commit serious crimes, negatively affecting society. For example, some young people in Vietnam often steal many food products in supermarkets to make a living due to unemployment, thereby hindering companies from generating lucrative income. Therefore, education is extremely vital for people, helping them enhance social behaviors, raise awareness and avoid committing crimes. Without quality education, people might remain trapped in a vicious circle of recidivism, which jeopardizes the societal fabric.

However, I am convinced that imprisonment/ prison terms/ incarceration prison is the most effective measure which brings about several benefits for society. Prison forces people to dedicate a majority of their time and effort to rigorous training programs and thereby depriving them of precious downtime with their family or for other competing priorities. Thus, people could be motivated to steer clear of becoming criminals. Compared to education which is often associated with more comfortable environments, prison is far stricter and more brutal, training prisoners and educating the general public more effectively. Therefore, when being released from prison, prisoners might have a tendency to look for a stable and tranquil life, avoiding repeat violations. As a result, prison is the best way to tackle criminal problems in society.

In conclusion, although education has numerous advantages, the benefit of prison is undeniable due to its strict and brutal environment. I maintain that in order to reduce criminal issues, the government should implement longer imprisonment for offenders.