The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives

The priority mission of science should be to develop and improve people’s lives. Scientific discoveries take quite a long time and require much money, so all research must be about how to improve people’s lives.

Firstly, human life is short and, unfortunately, full of problems. However, scientists are continually working and studying ways to improve people’s lives. On the one hand, this research needs a huge budget for equipment, tests, and scientists’ salaries; this is why scientists cannot work just for the sake of people. Mostly, they work for the military because governments pay the expenses to provide their countries with self-defense systems such as satellites, missiles, or fifth-generation jets.

Secondly, when we consider development in the military field, it directly affects human lives, such as with humanoid robots, artificial intelligence, and the achievement of longer human lifespans. From this perspective, the cost of new technologies decreases day by day. After a while, these improvements get into our homes, and we use them every day without notice. For instance, humanoid robots help us in basic missions right now. But when their technology and their intelligence improve, they will be more effective in the job market. That is how scientists improve human lives.

In my opinion, scientists work, whether directly or indirectly, for human lives. Almost all scientific papers or breakthroughs help human life.