The most important purpose of a country's government is to protect sovereignty and maintain the safety of its people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the government’s main responsibilities is to ensure national sovereignty and the safety of its citizens. Some would advocate for this function to be prioritized above all else; however, I disagree with this statement. I believe that promoting sustainable economic development and improving people’s living conditions are roles that should also be considered equally significant.

On the one hand, a country without sovereignty is much more vulnerable to external exploitation and influences, which will expose that nation to the risk of losing its liberty and independence. A country that fails to guarantee safety may also experience social distrust and economic decline. As a result, throughout history, many former colonies and communities had to revolutionize and establish their own government in order to defend themselves from the invasion of foreign rulers. Without a government to support their independence, a community was more likely to be subject to others’ dominion and lose sovereignty, while its people would be prone to sufferings from the policies that only benefit outsiders.

On the other hand, for a country to not only exist but also thrive, it is unwise to place all the focus on safeguarding sovereignty and neglect other factors, especially consistent economic growth. By allocating resources for advanced infrastructure and taking different approaches, such as promoting tourism, logistics, and gaining trading partnerships, the government can assist business growth and fortify national economic development. A thriving economy is conducive to a country’s position in the international marketplace while also acting as a bargaining chip in political discussions with other nations. Said country will be able to provide citizens with a worry-free and more prospective living environment.

Furthermore, the government also needs to enact suitable policies and invest in services such as healthcare and education so as to improve people’s quality of life. In every country, not only do citizens wish to live in a peaceful environment, protected from external threats, they also expect internal social order and opportunities for a stable future from their government. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the governments most praised by their citizens were not necessarily those with mighty militaries, but those who proactively protected both citizens’ physical health and economic livelihoods through stimulus packages and public health measures. This balance redefines ‘safety’ to include financial and medical security.