Many people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences in earning between the richest and poorest members. What extent do you agree and disagree with?

It is widely argued by many that a decline in differences of revenue between the rich and the poor would bring happiness to society. While I mostly agree that this tendency can damage the national economy, I would also admit that people would become less stressed.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people believe reduction of gap between poor and reach people can bring happiness. Firstly, people would be less exhausted and get rid of many responsibilities on their shoulders. Therefore, they would be less tired and full of energy. Secondly, if individuals were equally paid, they would be able to allocate time to other things, as spending time with family or dedicating themselves to some hobbies they are into. As a result, they would end up with getting a sence of satisfaction.

However, I would side with those who argue that it has more negative impacts to society than positive ones. The elimination of differences between gainings of employees reduces competition between them. Therefore, it would lead to a lack of motivation and productivity. Citizents woul be heavily relient on the encouragement from the government and less ambitios to progress in their career path. Moreover, the national trade would also be damaged. To clarify, as there would be no competition, companies would not strive for generating new ideas and innovations. A good example od this can be USSR, where this policy put the economy of countries under pressure. As a result, according to ancient experiences, this trend will put strain on the economy and the quality of living itself.

In conclusion, although the approximate equality of incomes can reduce stress, I do not fully agree that it would make people happier.