The only reason for people working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that making more money is the key reason why most people do their job. In my opinion, working hard is not solely driven by financial considerations, therefore I believe that other factors are equally important.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that money is the basic need for every individual to fulfill their expenses and requirements. That is to say, working hard plays a crucial role in people’s life in order to support themselves and their family. For example, they can pay for housing, food, bills, healthcare and education. Moreover, people, if put little extra efforts on their work, could receive promotions, which might lead to the financial stability to run their livelihood.

Nevertheless, I believe that non-financial factors are also of great importance in working hard. Firstly, occupation mostly serves as a source of motivation. In other words, by following their passion humans are more likely to build a successful career, which leads to the case that they are more confident in themselves to pursue exact goals and then to make them a reality. Furthermore, hard work forces personal development by presenting various challenges. It provides with growth opportunities to improve important life skills: determination, attentiveness, responsibility, critical thinking, problem-solving and so on. By developing such qualities, people can form their own individuality.

To conclude, while salaries and monetary rewards help people cover their basic necessities and become financially independent, there are such other reasons of working hard, as finding the meaning of life and self-development. Therefore, I believe money is equally important as other reasons.