The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a growing consensus that the best action for fostering road safety is to implement more harsher traffic punishments for driving offenses. While I understand the rationale behind this argument, I would contend that giving severe punishments may not may not provide a comprehensive solution

It is without doubt that giving much stricter punishments can contribute to safer roads. Severe punishments are generally effective in promoting safety for road users. For instance, drivers who violate the law such as exceeding the speed limit and drinking alcohol should pay an extremely high fine or have their license confiscated.”

. The aim of those is to ensure every driver can comprehend the laws as well as be aware of the adverse results, which are attributed to their offenses, encouraging them to refrain from negligent actions. The government therefore guarantees comfortable traffic systems for everyone.

However, I argue that imposing stricter punishments has its limitation. Instead, providing enough traffic facilities and ensuring good road conditions are more effective. To elaborate, there was a wide range of accidents caused by poor road conditions, which had many potholes, sharp curves, and struggles with stormwater drains. Ensuring the safety of traffic systems is the local authorities’ responsibility, thus, because of road problems, drivers who unintentionally cause incidents can not be blamed alone. Hence, governments should subsidize the infrastructure to the good road conditions such as setting up traffic signals, installing more drains and potholes that disturb driving processes. Furthermore, increasing the difficulty level of driving tests can indeed contribute to road safety. For instance, people can achieve their license whenever they correct 90% of the whole test, which includes numerous skillful questions, puzzling theories, multiple choice questions about traffic, and risk assessment. These tests help people be responsible in their behavior and be able to manage the test’s requirements. Therefore, participating in traffic is more conscious and boosts the traffic system safety.

In conclusion, although there is a thought that giving much stricter punishments for driving offenses is a comprehensive strategy, I partly disagree with this statement. I believe that ensuring high quality with enough infrastructure can curb accidents and hard levels of driving tests help people become duty in engaging in traffic due to grasp the traffic rules.