The percentage of overweight children in Western countries has increased by almost 20% in last ten years. Discuss the disturbing causes and effects of this trend.

In today’s world, the widespread issue of obesity among children has become commonplace It has been reported that the number of obese children in Western countries has grown dramatically (by 20%) within a decade. Although it is making these youngsters suffer from inability problems and depression, it is the advertisement and rise of using sugar in snacks that are behind this.

Two main factors are behind this problem. Firstly, the advanced advertisement of snacks might be the root problem. To be more precise, the evolved advertisement of snacks is grabbing the attention of youth and means that these children are falling under the impression that obsessing with sugar-mixed snacks is a common trend. This kind of issue can be cited in various parts of America, where the number of sweet snack manufacturers have increased in last decade, such as Snickers, KitKat, and Gummy Bear. Another factor of heaviness among youngsters is that snack factories are using sugar more compared to the last ten years, as the modern demand of these children is only associated with sweets. For instance, linked to advertisements, young members of Western society are gaining weight gradually because of impulsive eating of commodities with overly added sugar.

The effects of being obese involve various types of illnesses and negative destructive feelings. This means that If a child is likely to gain weight, he/she will experience symptoms of deterioration of the immune system and limitation of normal tasks, such as running a mile going upstairs, or playing any sports. This can be supported by health reports of health centers in the USA, which represent the growing number of overweight children who have similar signs. The second effect is depression among youngsters. It has been reported that numerous of them are failing to perform better at school due to the fact that they are embarrassed by his/her bodies, which has led them to lock themselves up from reality.

To sum up, the promotion of sugary products and the pervasive use of sugar in snacks are the major reasons for obesity among young Western citizens. While they are causing depression and the possibility of life-threatening illnesses for these children.