The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of obese children in the western society has risen to approximately one-fifth over the past ten years. This essay will assess the obvious reasons why children are prone to obesity and discuss the possible impacts of this alarming problem.

To begin with, one of the main reasons is unbalanced diet. For example, many children who live with working parents cannot eat properly at home. Besides, parents are not cooking at home, these also buy frozen meals that are ready-to-eat for their children as they do not have time to prepare dishes. Another reason is fast food restaurants which has become very popular in almost every country. These restaurants target children and affect their mind by giving toys and discount opportunities. Despite the fact that fast food meals are not healthy, many children still go to these restaurants because they want to possess the toys they given.

As for the consequences of this phenomenon, many serious diseases such as cardiovascular problems and diabetes has increased among juveniles in the last ten years. For instance, my younger brother has dealt with diabetes for four years due to poor diet because he loved fast food and junk food. He had to be injected insulin every morning like other diabetic children. Kids who are diagnosed with this ailment suffer from it for the rest of their lives, which can only be overcome with a balanced diet. Unless they continue to consume healthy dishes, it will be very hard for them to have a life of good quality. In addition, overweight children always have a trouble with their body shapes. They cannot do sports easily and can never achieve success in this field. Besides, they are vulnerable to mental health disorders because of their appearance.

In conclusion, there are several causes of obesity among children and also many negative outcomes. I hope that governments around the world monitor fast food companies closely to restrict them and make an effort to prevent this issue to save obese children’s lives.