The performance of staff can have a significant impact on the success of a company. What can companies do to increase staff productivity?

The majority of companies define their success as the increase of their income each year compared with the last year, and this cannot be achieved without increasing staff productivity. The next paragraphs will try to answer the question of how to increase productivity inside the company. The short answer is to focus on two major parameters: the environment and bonuses.

First, the environment comprises the working conditions, such as the workplace, the tools, and the workers themselves. Therefore, these conditions affect productivity inside the company. A worker may have the ultimate capabilities of producing, but without a good workplace, he can do nothing; or without tools to create things; or even if his colleagues talk a lot and do not help him, he cannot produce. To exemplify, if a computer science engineer has the responsibility of creating a large program, he needs a table and chair, a laptop, and a team to work with. Thus, the quality of the final product is related to the quality of the production environment.

Second, bonuses encourage the staff to make more efforts. In other terms, the worker works in the company to earn money and increase his standard of living; as a result, the more the company helps him achieve his goals, the more he will help it in return. The company should offer its staff some incentives, such as collaborating with a gym to reduce subscription prices or helping them buy a new house or car. Such actions will encourage the staff first to stay with the company and second to increase productivity.

In summary, the working environment and bonuses play a crucial role in production, and the majority of companies do not care about these parameters because their first and only goal is income.