The popularity of 'fast fashion' contributes significantly to environmental pollution and resource depletion. Should governments implement stricter regulations on the fashion industry to promote sustainable practices? Analyze the pros and cons of such regulations and offer your perspective.

Nowadays, the environment is becoming more polluted and the amount of resources decreasing due to one-time-used clothes. Implementing harsher rules on industry of fashion by government to use eco-friendly materials could partly solve this problem. Although, there are some disadvantages in doing so, advantages still outweigh them.

On the one hand, if authorities apply strict rules to make fashion houses use environment-friendly cloths, it may result in massive rebellion, as such materials cost much. In order to produce clothes which do not damage ecosystem, modellers will have to use expensive products which in turn, will be priced highly. Consequently, ordinary people who can not afford such expenditure may show high level of dissatisfaction and start writing complaint posts. As a result, this small action may cause big rebellious performs. For instance, the USA citizens do such demonstrations regularly and sometimes even require police intervention.

On the other hand, polluted regions of Earth is already dangerous and it may become even more harmful if no action take place. The amount of pollution has been rising recently, which is considered as danger for animals, plants and us humans. The ‘fast-fashion’ trend adds more items that extract harmful gasses to the atmosphere and spoil the soil at the same time. As there is already plastic everywhere which has been causing harm for our planet for decades, adding another garbage from fashion industry which can not be recycled will worsen the situation. As an example of the hardships caused by non-recyclable things, I can give pits of garbage that almost all countries use to avoid bad consequences of harmful gasses. Governments make special pits in countryside that contains all rubbish that will not rot without harming environment.

In conclusion, even though putting an ultimatum on fashion industry could lead to social complaints, it is endurable comparing to global ecology problems that may be caused by taking no action at all.