The popularity of online learning has grown significantly in recent years. What are the reasons for the rise in online education? Do you think online learning is as effective as traditional classroom learning?

In the past few years, e-learning is considerably increasing its popularity. This is because people prefer more convenient and cheaper education. Hence, I consider that in comparison with traditional one, online learning more efficient.

One of the reasons for online education being widespread is convenience of studying using Internet sources. Students can make flexible schedule to engage with learning materials at suitable time, while maintaining other necessary responsibilities. Another key factor for the rise of online learners can be the lower price or even free access to materials. That is why studying through courses on the Internet vital opportunity for those who cannot afford face to face lessons. As an example, online language learning application such as Duolingo has been widespread among users because any person can download it and create own study program considering the possible time for dedication. Therefore, causes that e-learning has become highly popular is its accessibility and cost-effectiveness.

Enrolling in an online course has more benefits, compared to conventional classrooms, like fostering a student’s self-discipline. To compare with structured environment of traditional lessons, e-learning considers to manage the time effectively. However, without extreme sense of responsibility online lessons would not be that effective as ordinary face to face classes with fixed program. For example, many online students gave up on learning due to the lack of self-control and inability to maintain the pace by themselves. Thus, education on online platforms would be more beneficial, if students could stay disciplined despite of flexible schedule.

In conclusion, having been popularized because of preferences of students towards convenience and budget-friendliness, online education could be as effective as traditional ones, despite of minor challenges.