The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The status of women has evolved immensely since 50 years ago.However, some people believe that there exist a gender biased society. Currently both men and women have equal rights in life and are treated the same in a society.

It can be noted that, earlier women were restricted to learn, to take up high positions in jobs and also had no rights to give their opinions in the society. Nowadays, ladies have come forward in different walks of life like sports,science,agriculture,engineering and medicine. Over the years women acquiredmany rights which were primarily reserved only for men.For example , in the year 2017, the parliament of India raised the number of woman legislative members from 10 percent to 33 percent of its total seats.

In modern times, women are competent to so multi-tasking.They take care of the family by doing all household chores and also financially support by being a working member. Women are no longer considered inferior to men.For example a recent article of the Times of India,reflected on a rise in the number of female CEOs in renowned companies across the world. Moreover, the government organizations in different countries have taken interest in formulating policies and rules to bring up the participation of female population to overcome the gender bias across society.

In conclusion, men and women have equal rights in life before the law and contribute equally to thecommunity. While the gender bias existing in some societies can be considered as an abuse.