The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

During the past half century, the role of women has been significantly transformed in many societies. However, gender equality has not been completely achieved in many communities. From my viewpoint, there are still many opportunities of development in this sphere, taking into consideration the present existence of female oppression in the world.

On one hand, though the rapid development of feminism has brought numerous crucial changes in modern society, it is clear that it has not affected several conservative Muslim countries, where women rights are discriminated against even in nowadays. For instance, Afghanistan’s policy oppresses its female citizens in many domains, from politics to domestic environment. Neither Afghan women can vote, nor do their voices have value in influental political decisions. Furthermore, they are mandatorially escorted outdoors by their male relatives or husbands and cannot leave their homes unaccompanioned. Oppressed, Afghan women are left to take the role of housewives with no chance of personal, academical or career growth. This demonstrates the gender inequality in many conservative countries which has not been addressed by the authorities, affecting women’s everyday life.

On the other hand, the female position in European countries is fundamentally different from some Muslim communities. For example, providing equal rights, Denmark demonstrates strong gender equality in many fields, such as law and healthcare. In court, Danish women’s voice is as crucial as men’s, unbiased by their gender. In addition, they claim equal political participation with many female authorities in charge. Not only is Denmark responsible for equality in politics, but also in healthcare, with female patiens being in priority. This affects the statistics, making Denmark feature the lowest maternal mortality percentage in the world. Overall, this showcases that most of the European communities have achieved equality among men and women.

In conclusion, while women are still discriminated against in numerous societies – like in the aforementioned Afghanistan and other Muslim countries – space for development is present and requires proper attention in the global community. Although other parts of the world, such as Europe, do have gender equality, nevertheless, the movement of feminism is significant for eradication of female oppresion on global level.