The research indicates that nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons and is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, it is undeniable that advertisement influence on buyers is less than in the past, which is caused by several reasons. However, this trend brings some negative effects on society.

There are typical reasons why customers don’t get affected by advertising as seriously as they used to be. First of all, the number of advertisements increases sharply over time. To be more specific, a huge number of companies tend to advertise their goods whenever they can, such as on the streets, malls or social media. For instance, many Tiktok, Youtube users complained about the quantity of advertisements that they accidentally scroll to while they use these platforms. As a result, the figure for potential customers declines dramatically because they tend to ignore the ads that bother them whenever they try to entertain. Secondly, the customers are aware of being cheated. It can be explained by the fact that they see the advertisements many times, so they are always careful with the ads. For example, many parents decide to keep their children away from technology until they are aware of the dangers of cybercrime. Therefore, adults are nurturing the precaution for advertisements in the next generation, this contributes to the decline in consumers influenced by advertisements.

On the other hand, this trend brings society many negative effects. First and foremost, companies need to raise the cost to advertise their products. This is mainly because the advertisement must be more attractive but still remain realistic to captivate buyers’ attention. To illustrate, there are tons of advertisements that can be seen in the streets, buses or even airplanes. Consequently, this can be a financial burden on a huge number of businesses, especially the small one with limited capital. Furthermore, due to the cost increased for the advertisement, the price tag on the goods is increasing rapidly to make a profit. To be more detailed, the primary reason to operate a business is profit so that the owners can pay for their employers’ rental fee,…Take an example from the current private companies that need to make a decision to either uplift the price or dismiss the employees without potential. As a consequence, that business can be operated with lack of workers or high-price items, which might bring the customers bad experiences.

In conclusion, this phenomenon is caused by the excessive number of advertisements and the awareness of customers with cyber crimes. However, this concept provides the world with some negative effects in terms of higher cost for advertisement and the rise of price tag on many products.