The restoration of old buildings in major cities throughout the world involves enormous expenditure. This money would bring more benefits if it was used to provide new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that government should invest money in building new infrastructure and residential communities rather than fixing old premises. I totally agree that the government must allot the budget strictly to construct modern infrastructure as it will benefit both the country and the people in the long run.

Many countries are facing housing shortages which has resulted in homelessness, poverty and food crisis. Fixing the old building would be too costly and time-consuming; therefore, States must focus on constructing new buildings. This will be beneficial for people to be able to live in a safer and modern houses with trendy facilities. Not only that but Government would also be succeeded in winning their citizen’s hearts as well as achieve economic benefits. China is a prime example of taking initiatives to simple demolish old buildings and making new one. They have used construction technology to create prefabricated houses. In simple words, they manufacture significant building parts in advance in factory and assemble them on the site, which result in completion of ten storey building in fifteen days. Countries should learn these techniques from China to built sustainable and new homes quickly.

Not only spending budget to make houses will benefit people but would also be helpful for the governments to achieve political, economic and social objectives. Additionally, government would achieve greater economic benefits. Moreover, old building are dangerous and cause hazards for the resident. China and Vietnam are the biggest example of destroying decades old building and creating new on average time of fifteen days, which has benefited government and increase the national wealth.

In conclusion, while ancient and historical building must be taken care of, the old residential building should be replaced completely as new building are safer and much better for both the people and the government of the country.