The restoration of old buildings in major cities throughout the world involves enormous expenditure. This money would bring more benefits if it was used to provide new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many metropolitan cities worldwide, Governments allocate a substantial amount of money in restoring old buildings. While many believe that it is significant to spend money on restoration projects, others argue that this money should be spent in infrasture projects like housing and road development. I partially agree with that and I believe that although it is important to invest in restoring old buidlings, however, it should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, Government should invest substantial funds in new housing and road infrastructure in cities suffering from rapid population growth. Providing resources for new housing can help alleviate problems like overcrowding, homelessness, and rising living costs. Furthermore, road development can improve transportation systems, reduce traffic congestion, and contribute to economic growth by enhancing connectivity between different cities of the country. For this reason, modernization by prioritizing these efforts can improve quality of life for many urban residents.

On the other hand, old buildings, especially those historic buildings represent a country’s heritage and culture. Preserving these buildings are essential to glorify their cultural tradition. Additionally, it plays a vital role in boosting a country’s economy as it helps attract tourists from different parts of the world. For instance, cities like Rome and Paris draw millions of travelers from all over the world because of their historic architecture, boosting their local economy. Moreover, restoration is also benefical as it reduces wastage and energy consumption associated with new construction. Therefore, the restoration of these buildings is important to preserve a city’s historic culture as well as to support a country’s tourism industry.

In conclusion, while it is important to restore historic buildings for protecting their tradition, new housing and road development is equally valuable for urban growth of a country. I believe that a balance should be maintained between modernization and restoration efforts as it will lead to a long-term benefits for the growing population. Therefore, the Government should be selective in restoring buildings that are essential for a country’s historic culture while investing money in new infrastructure projects. “