Some people feel that government should take a large proportion of people's salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and school. Other feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that the state administration are better off collecting a higher percentage of their citizens wages, implementing better infrastructure. However, there is also an opposition, refuting that such system is flawed. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and come to a concise conclusion.

To start off, at first, raising taxes seems like a logical solution to acquiring better quality of life. Despite this, it is important to understand that a higher collection would mean that the people will have a much tighter budget, limiting them in usage of these public services. For example, if families do not have enough money to support the birth of a child, it leads straight to the schools being empty. The same goes for all infrastructure, besides maybe the roads. So, there is no point in taking the bigger portion of people’s wages, knowing they will only have to work harder. Not mentioning the rocketing chances of all kinds of corruption in the government.

On the other side of the argument, higher taxes is a common practice in different nations all over the world. Including all of Scandinavia and Europe: Switzerland, Germany, Netherlands. They have one of the highest places in the ratings all over the world concerning the lives of their people, in spite of having high taxes. The point is that their leaders make sure the left over after taxes wage is enough to live a full and comfortable life. This requires the country to have a stable economy. However, it completely pays off, giving the citizens a safety pillow to rely on.

Having considered all the pros and cons, I have come to an opinion that even if there are certain downsides to higher taxes, there is an equal amount, if not more, of advantages, providing better life necessities such as public transport and much more.