The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

The unstoppable progress of social utilities has lent versatility to the user, enabling them to circulate their emotions and thoughts. This essay will shed light on the aftermath as well as the upside of this trend.

Publishing personal thoughts of a particular product or service provider haphazardly on the Internet might take a toll on the market in general and the victim’s entrepreneurial practices. In point of fact, dissatisfaction and contention tend towards ferocity and rage out of control at the outset when such feelings are new and irritating. To put it another way, the unfortunate customer who is mistreated by the business party is highly likely to quickly include outrage and adverse opinions in his or her feedbacks, the ill-prepared, possibly offensive words of which might stain the business party’s reputation. Reputation damaged, the business loses the critical weapon to entice customers. Worse still, the entire market will suffer when the negative feedback starts going viral.

The freedom of speech on Facebook, Twitters and the like would be taking major steps towards fair play between the enterprise and the customer. Renowned and mighty retailers and manufacturers, such as McDonald and Nestle, are widely known to wield power over the market, especially manipulating the masses and monopolising the industries. It is worth noticing that the corporations have consecutively tangled with horrendous scandals, from predatory pricing for competitor elimination to overpricing for profit rises, according to a state-conducted report released in June, 2016 in the United States. Unlike those who lived in the past, today’s consumers are largely encouraged to expose corporal deceptions and share their own perspectives on public sites to raise the public awarness and put pressure on the companies for fairness and the morally good.