The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

In many aspects of life, people often tend to imitate from others. In fact, I totally agree with this statement for reasosns such as marketing impact and human’s natural factors.

The first major reason is the influence of advertising on people. This means that large companies create demand for items by using psychological tricks which include a term like “limited edition”. Although some may argue that people are more aware about the dark psychological ways of advertisements, I would argue that professionals behind these advertisements are experts in psychology and they will always figure out how to use people’s weak points in order to create a sense of need in them. Thus, if a person sees that many people are purchasing a particular item, they will also be eager to buy it since they want to fit into a group. There may be a number of occasions that if a person does not own a specific item that many people have, they may be ostracized and estranged by others.

Another key reason, in my opinion, is that humans have an innate tendency to replicate actions of successful individuals. If a celebrity, for example, uses a product to simply endorse big corporations while receiving large sums of money, their fans might blindly follow their actions and purchase the same product simply because they are fond of that person. Hence, it can perpetuate the cylce of consumerism and exaggerate the empty value of most celebrities.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that humans have a strong tendency to replicate others because of the impact of advertisements and psychological features.