The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that some news reporters in media platforms focus their attention on problems and urgent issues in society, rather than on positive news; this trend is harmful for individuals and society. I partly agree with this idea because this tendency involves both positive and negative impacts.

On the one hand, having too many news stories focus on negative aspects of society is not a good thing and can have effects on people’s mental states. For example, too much news about the prediction of pandemics on social platforms can make people always worry about the pandemic and unable to place their minds on work or study. Consequently, it can be harmful for people’s mental health and income. Secondly, it also can lead people to misunderstand aspects of society that should be given respect and recognition. For example, Theanh 28 News always mentions the dark side of celebrations on their blog; this can make people think showbiz is disgusting and disrespect celebrations, although it is an industry where many people make significant contributions to society.

On the other hand, a lot of negative news and reports on emergencies can help people prevent potential dangers. Firstly, the media can be regarded as a way to spread news, and this can help people solve serious societal problems together. Secondly, it can help raise citizens’ awareness. With more negative stories on media platforms, people can have more opportunities to solve their problems or gain more knowledge of aspects of society. For instance, a lot of negative news about cancer in the media can lead people to adopt healthier diets to prevent potential risks of the disease.

In conclusion, the media has good reason to report on all aspects of society, although it needs to consider the impact of negative news.