The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are numerous different opinions about businesses’ commitments. Some people believe that companies have to take some obligations. Others argue that this is the task for governments not for corporations. I totally disagree that businesses should not have any responsibilities. In this essay, I will assert that this situation is not beneficial neither for organization nor for ordinary people.

Taking responsibilities has significant importance for companies to help them stay competitive. Today many businesses struggle to find enough skilled professionals, therefore, social commitments, like health insurance, a gym membership, and paying for staff children education, might help the to attract new employees. For example, big IT corporations (Google, Microsoft) have special divisions that create and spread social benefits among their workers. This could be one of the reasons of their success. Hence, social obligations bring benefits not only for staff members, but for entities too.

Another advantage is for ordinary people. Businesses and citizens are living in a common environment. Therefore, companies’ activity has a straight impact on the population. For instance, mining companies frequently have to burn out huge amount of oil and gas during the mining process. This leads to air pollution that has negative influence on people’s health. Consequently, it is reasonable for these corporations to invest money in new hospitals or air cleaning technologies to mitigate that damage. The more impact on people’s health businesses have, the more responsibilities they should have.

In conclusion, I argue that social responsibilities are crucial for companies because they might facilitate their good reputation and help to have higher profits.