The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that tourism traffic has grown a lot over the last five decades and concerns now most of the countries in the world. However, some individuals believe that this industry doesn’t bring any additional value to the host countries. In my opinion, this is not true that’s why this essay will argue that tourism industry results in more advantages than disadvantages.

To start with, tourism activity is actually an important source of income for a lot of countries and is often seen as a key part of their economic system just as Tunisia or Turkey for example wich is understandable because they do not possess other assets such as Petrol or gas and therefore, have to rely a lot on it.

In addition to that, tourism also contribute a lot to strenghten relationships between nations as it strongly favor cultural exchange and allows the hosting countries to promote their culture and historical traditions, as when someone goes on a vacation to italy for example that person’s gonna discover their museums or taste their traditional food, it’s in fact a cultural journey to discover a new country. I think this contribute a lot to create a friendly climate between nations. In other words, tourism industry offers many benefits altought many people don’t share the same opinion.

On the other hand, i can understand why they may have a different point of view, especially those who live in big cities where come a lot of tourists, it’s because those same cities usually become unpleasant places to live when they are invaded by visitors : public transports get overloaded, same with road traffic and it’s always noisy and stifling. Fights and misunderstandings also happen frequently between locals and people from other countries.

Nonetheless and despite all of that, i’am still convinced that tourism offers more benefits than drawbacks wether it is from an economical or cultural point of view