The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, travelling and visiting other countries and cultures have never been so easy. Some people believe that there are few advantages from receiving people in their countries. In my opinion, I believe economic growth and multicultural enrichment are paramount benefits that a country receives from tourism.

Tourism, for some countries, is the major factor that impacts their economy. While local people do not spend a great amount of money on attractions such as museums or theatre, tourists are willing to invest it to enjoy and have an unforgettable experience. Furthermore, visitors tend to go out for dinner more frequently than local people. Therefore, tourists increase restaurants and local attractions’ incomes significantly. To exemplify this statement, Ushuaia, a small town in Argentina, has developed an economy based on tourism. Local people’s jobs are entirely for visitor services, such as, gastronomic or outdoor activities.

Another benefit from receiving people from all parts of the world is multicultural enrichment and the youngest feeling motivated. As tourists are from different cultures and backgrounds, local citizens are able to learn and improve language skills during visitors’ stays. Hosts are not only nourishing from foreign customs but also staying motivated by living in a dynamic and interesting cosmopolitan environment. Particularly, the youngest are thrilled about learning from other cultures and building international relationships for their future. Hence, they start learning other languages and developing soft skills from an early age.

In conclusion, receiving tourists has been improving the host city not only with economic development, but also by motivating and teaching their citizens with international cultures and different languages. From my point of view, tourism had a significant growth and countries are improving due to this economic activity.