The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been more and more tourists in different countries over the years. Some people believe that tourism helps to improve the country they live in, others say it may be quite damaging for any place people visit. I strongly support the idea that tourism has many benefits because it’s associated with positive change in several areas.

The first reason is that tourism has a great impact on local business. For instance, it’s an ordinary situation that local shops only exist for people who want to buy some souvenirs. It also provides a job for locals, as in several business activities, parks, for instance. Correspondingly, there’s a money flow to the region.

Furthermore, travelers help improve the country’s infrastructure and facilities. A case in point is cultural objects and centers that have been built for a large amount of people. For example, museums, theaters and exhibits are funded by visitors.

The final reason to approve traveling is the fact that tourists develop local culture and communities by generating interest in these forms of activities. As an example, people create local culture museums for tourists, which start to launch tour groups for local students. Furthermore, traveling initiates cultural exchange between different countries, which makes culture more extensive and powerful.

To conclude, there are many arguments for the point that tourism could be not only damaging but also a good resource for increasing the level of a country’s economy and happiness. In fact, it helps locations become more convenient and satisfactory for their habitats.