The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The disappearance of having meals together within families is getting more frequent. The situation can be caused by two factors are the important of this tradition in the young generation’s view and the inconvenience of home cooking

On the one hand, the youngsters may not realize the importance of this tradition as much as in the past. Although having mealtimes together can strengthen the family bond by the time they spent to listen to each other, this can also bring some downsides onto the table because the amount of time the family need to have a meal together which includes preparing and cleaning time, also select a fixed timeslot for a daily can be hard for someone. This in the long term can result in weak family bonds and even widen the generation gap between parents and their children

On the other hand, the inconvenience of home cooking in terms of shopping, preparing, and cleaning up time can be the factor that make individuals think about eating outside instead of at home. Housewives can exemplify this situation because often we can see women are the one whose responsibility is to prepare meals, so if both parents are working in that household, eventually no one will take care of that part. So eating outside is becoming more and more popular as an alternative for home cooking because of the convenience.

In conclusion, the fading of the tradition can be caused by two main factors are the unimportance and inconvenience of it; in addition, further consequences can be the weak family bonds and the popularity of eating outside