The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is widely recognized that the long-established tradition of family members gathering and having meals together is bound to wane as time passes. This essay will elaborate on the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon as well as outline some of its impacts on family bonds and human lifestyle.

The gradual vanishment of family mealtime is attributed to the increasingly hectic lifestyle of modern people. These days, due to the fiercer competitiveness of the workforce, working adults tend to be occupied by a heavy workload and work overtime more frequently to subsist. Thus, these busy individuals often come home lately, rendering their eating schedules unfit with those of other family members. This situation is even compounded by the existing fast-food culture. In a world fraught with ready-to-eat meals, many people opt for grabbing a quick and convenient meal from a fast-food restaurant after work as it is time-efficient rather than spending time eating with their families.

Nevertheless, the dwindling family mealtime could pose several detrimental repercussions. It has long been admitted that having meals together is one of the most effective ways to reinforce the family bond and improve the relationships between family members. The conversation during mealtime can enhance mutual understanding, and a deep talk with loved ones can even help working people unleash their stress from work. Furthermore, the inclination towards eating junk food but not having mealtime with the family can exacerbate modern people’s eating habits. This unhealthy food is loaded with sugar, fat, and cholesterol, and it can bring about severe lifestyle-related diseases such as diabetes and overweight.

To conclude, the increasingly fast-paced lifestyle of individuals these days and the prevalence of fast foods seem to be the root causes of families not gathering regularly for meals. This detrimental trend can take a toll on family bonds and jeopardize human health.