The use of cars and motorcycles causes transportation difficulty in cities. Why do people continue to use cars and motorcycles in city? What is the best way to solve this problem?

Recent decades witness the increase of cars and motorcycles especially in cities. Although the usage of these vehicles has already led to a series of transportation problems such as air pollution and traffic congestion, citizens remain dependent on them. There are various reasons for this, but measures could be taken to tackle the problem.

The first reason is that compared with public transport, driving is more comfortable and convenient. During rush hours, there is barely any seat on buses or metros, while drivers can sit comfortably in their cars. Not to mention the smell and noise. The badly-designed transport systems also contribute to people’s dependence on private automobiles. For example, the buses may not arrive on time and even break down, causing many passengers being late for school or work. Making things worse, those who live far away from the city center may need to transfer to another line or more to reach their destinations, which strongly encourage them to drive so that they can reach any location in the city directly.

One of the best approaches governments can take is to enhance the conditions of public transport by ensuring cleanliness, reducing noise levels, and easing overcrowding. More staffs are needed during rush hours to guide the crowds, maintain the order and prevent any accident. Likewise, more seats need to be installed and more routes should also be added to increase the capacity. Another approach is to build a more efficient and reliable transport system. For example, in some cities there are special lanes for buses to pass through so that they are always punctual when the cars are caught in traffic congestion. In addition, new routes should be carefully designed to reduce unnecessary transfer between lines and save the energy of commuters.

In conclusion, governments can do a lot to improve the situation and encourage individuals to consider alternatives to driving.