The use of e-books is increasing day by day. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern times, mankind has witnessed a gradual shift from the usage of paper-based texts to E-books. E-books seem to have numerous advantages to their paper-based counterparts. This move is accepted by some, but disregarded by others. I personally believe that E-book adds more boon than bane for the society, even if it has few drawbacks.

The growing popularity of E-books have made a profound on the human society. Primarily, the important factors of E-books are its cost effectiveness and eco friendliness. For instance, cutting down of trees can be reduced, if wider usage of E-books is made operational. Secondly, one can also save some space to store other things if, E-books are ubiquitous among individuals. Finally, a person can also get access to multiple materials through a single device. Further, it enhances portability.

Although, speaking of pros, E-books have their own limitations. They could be a benefactor for health problems. For example, starring constantly at a high-resolution screen causes eye related issues and headaches. Added to that, the user might as well face piracy related issues. A revenue might not get generated for the publisher. In places, such as rural areas, where there is a poor source of network E-books may not function well. Therefore, considering the above highlights, some may find hard copies as a more beneficial knowledge tool.

So, in my honest opinion, usage of E-books can be maximized as a source of information hub, by keeping the screen at an optimum distance without affecting the eyesight. Also, expanding the network span across many regions of the country. This might as well increase the number of E book users.