The use of electric vehicles is increasing around the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Electric-based vehicles are being used more than ever all over the globe. This development brings merits towards the environment and individuals that use electrical transportations, but also conceals potential demerits that businesses and their users have to withstand.

On the one hand, the environment benefits in two ways: decreased noise and air pollution. As the usage of fuel engines falls, head-splitting noises and constant fumes discharged from engines may also declines. For instance, many big cities in Vietnam like Hanoi – one of the city with the worst air quality and Ho Chi Minh city are encouraging the use of electric-based way of transport in a plethora of streets and road. After, they recorded a significant fall in air pollution level, and the locals responded positively about the problems with noises around the area. Not only has this action benefited the locals but also the environment, by discouraging the disposal of green house gases from fuel vehicles, helping combat global warming. Individuals-wise, a special battery comes with the vehicle on purchase, therefore could decreases the liability on fuel stations. As a result, people are given the opportunity to be more independent towards their private vehicles.

On the other hand, fuel motors and engines businesses may withstand heavy damages. As electric vehicles are gradually replacing fuel ones, companies’ revenue might drop, causing the businesses to fail. Consequently, a wide range of jobs are going to become useless, unemploying many people. This may leave families unfed, rents unpaid, worsening the already collapsing economy. Moreover, private charging stations posess the risk of malfunctioning and explosive hazards, as most individuals would put their at home. If not used correctly, the batteries could deal devastating wounds and injuries to users.

In conclusion, while the increasing use of electric vehicles may brings many benefits to us and nature, we also have to consider the disadvantage that comes with it in order to fully utilizing the merits.