The use of electric vehicles is increasing around the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The introduction of electric vehicles has provided an alternative to fuel-powered cars. This essay discusses the merits and demerits of this topic and validates my opinion that despite some disadvantages, the merits, such as conservation of natural resources and pollution reduction, outweigh the drawbacks, such as higher cost.

On the one hand, the increasing exploitation of natural resources for fuel has had a negative impact on nature, causing disasters. The introduction of alternative options, such as electric vehicles, offers a better solution to the ongoing crisis faced by many nations. Additionally, adopting an eco-friendly alternative can minimize carbon emissions and reduce greenhouse gases. Electric vehicles not only reduce air pollution but also mitigate noise pollution. For instance, Tesla, with its cutting-edge technology, enables feasible access with lower lifetime carbon footprint and higher efficiency compared to traditional internal combustion engines, which waste roughly 60% to 70% of fuel energy as heat. Thus, with zero-emission technologies, electric vehicles facilitate better air quality and public health.

On the other hand, access to electric vehicles is more directed toward high-income earners. The overall pricing of electric vehicles with high-end technology is not easily accessible to middle-income earners. For instance, production of electric vehicles is limited due to higher pricing, although companies like Tata have introduced electric vehicles that can be accessed by middle-income earners. Therefore, providing budget-friendly options for buying electric cars can promote better sales.

In conclusion, although electric vehicle companies impose higher charges for buying a car, the introduction of lower-running electric vehicles means that electric cars will overtake traditional fuel cars with their eco-friendly performance and feasibility.