The use of mobile phones in public areas is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the usage of cell phones should not be allowed in public spaces as it often distracts the users from their surroundings. However, I partly disagree with this view due to the fact that for some people there is a necessity to communicate at any time using the tiny screen that they carry around on their hand. This essay will discuss why the use of it can not simply be banned in public, but also highlights the reason why people are considering it.

On one hand, the purpose of cell phones is to offer convenient ways of communication. It helps people to connect with other people, whether it is for personal or work purposes. A lot of people need to be able to reply to important emails or receive important news right away wherever they are. Banning cell phone use in public areas would slow the communication of its users who happen to be in a public space, therefore cell phones would lose their flexibility function.

On the other hand, some cell phone users get easily distracted in public while they are doing their business on their phone. They get caught up to the screens watching some entertainment and might end up ignoring their surroundings. Unfortunately, it often causes trouble for themselves and others, for example by bumping into other passersby or even falling as they do not see where they are going.

In conclusion, I believe that cell phones should be used wisely by everyone, especially in public. The use of it should not entirely be banned as it will cause inconvenience, but it is important to be considerate of the surroundings while using it outside their comfort spaces.