The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cell phones are a great invention that has played a vital role in boosting the speed of transmitting information for decades, which is even more important considering the need for data and immediate actions amid this modern era. Nevertheless, that smartphones bring about certain negative effects on human daily activities and lifestyles has left a bad impression on a number of people who regard them as an antisocial factor and affirm that they should be prohibited, similar to the prevention of smoking in many places. From my point of view, I disagree with this opinion because of several reasons that will be elaborated in this essay.

To begin with, there are numerous benefits that mobile phones can offer, and their usage is critically crucial in particular scenarios and settings. For instance, when it comes to navigation, phones are a great companion as when they are connected to the Internet, they can help their users access to Google Maps and ask for more support from other contacts. Moreover, a compass is often installed on every smartphone by developers, which enhances the users’ ability to track ways, reducing the risk of getting lost. Besides, this handy device is useful, not only in terms of navigation but also with regard to knowledge contribution. With a mobile phone, every individual can communicate with each other and get instantaneous responses. Following this, whatever type of information, regardless of whether it is academic or casual, can be shared and learned by anyone.

Meanwhile, some adverse impacts on human behaviours resulting from the overuse of mobile phones such as deteriorated concentration span, less participation in outdoor activities, tendency to become dependent on technology can be prevented. It is important that people be aware of the drawbacks of using cell phones excessively, especially when they get addicted and waste their time unreasonably, thus keeping control of their daily routine using the devices.

To sum up, as mobile phones have been an irreplaceable part of our daily life as well as the development of society in general, they should not be banned. Instead, the use of this technology must be well-managed, depending on whether it is justified or unjustified, supervised or not supervised.