The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that in terms of the antisocial facet, the adverse effect of mobile phones on individuals is equal to smoking. That is the reason why when smoking is forbidden in some particular places, the use of mobile phones in public locations should also be adopted by the same regulation. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that some restrictions are necessary, but a total ban is not justifiable.

Granted, proponents of banning mobile phones in certain places might argue that like smoking, over-using cellphones in public areas may lead to disturbance in shared space due to numerous annoying sounds from notifications or phone calls, which can easily discontract other individuals in a quiet environment, especially when those people in need of extreme concentration. However, this statement glosses over the fact that despite being detrimental, the impact of using mobile phones in some certain places does not cause any direct or chronic effect on individual overall well-being at all, like the way smoking does. That being the case, a fundamental ban on using smart phones in public locations is not necessary. Instead of that, some businesses or organizations can form a particular space for cellphone users in some certain places, like offices, libraries, and meeting rooms, where extensive focus and quiet environment are required.

Furthermore, the violence of personal freedom is another aspect where the negative impact of mobile phones banned regulation is pronounced. As the invention of cellphones is a part of the digital revolution, all people in society have a right to use this device to enjoy the achievement of human beings. That is the reason why preventing them from calling, messaging, or surfing the Internet in public places significantly violated their freedom. Worse still, banning mobile phones would even threaten personal life if individuals were in an emergency circumstances. By using cellphones to contact with the emergency services, the location where the call came from can be easily tracked and helped them in the shortest period of time, which almost absolutely could not occur in case of mobile phones being banned.

To summarize, despite certain benefits that banning cellphones can confer, I would argue its drawbacks are greater pronounced and restrictions are enough as they much more ideal than a total ban.