The use of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the growing popularity of social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter has caused people to change the way they communicate. In my opinion, their drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

Many people prefer texting via social networks because of convenience. First of all, it is undeniable that the use of social media allows people to connect with their friends or relatives or family members comfortably regardless of geographical location. For example, thanks to Facebook, overseas students can easily contact family members. In addition, they can chat whenever they can’t make an appointment. For instance, during the recent COVID-19 epidemic, everyone was not allowed to go out and contact others. Therefore, if they want to chat with others to update information, they have to use Facebook to do that.

Nevertheless, the trend of using social networks for communication is generally more harmful. To begin with, the use of social media reduces the quality of personal relationships. People have a tendency to communicate through screens and text so they can easily misunderstand each other if they do not express themselves delicately. For example, humour or sarcasm can be easily misinterpreted if we don’t know how to convey emotions through text. The overuse of social media to communicate can lead to underestimate the importance of face-to-face interaction. Nowadays, many young and reclusive users prefer living in a virtual world on social networking sites rather than engaging in real-life relationships. Moreover, many teenagers have a habit of using abbreviated words, which are frequently used in text messages so they may forget the correct spelling of those words.

In conclusion, the way that social platforms replace face-to-face interaction has pros and cons, but I believe that its disadvantages outweigh its advantages.