The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in everyday life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this development?

It is true that social media is replacing people’s face-to-face contact in today’s modern society. Although doing this has several advantages, the drawbacks may be far more significant.

One the one hand, there can be some minor benefits of social networks to communicate. One possible advantage is that social networks have made it easier for us to stay connected with our loved ones. For example, students studying abroad can use the video calling features of Zalo, Facebook, or various other apps to stay connected with family and friends daily. Another beneficial effect could be that social media is also an effective tool for marketing and business. In this day and age, companies can keep customers up to date with new products or special offers by posting events on TikTok or Instagram. This can help people saves a lot of time and money compared to traditional advertising methods in newspapers or magazines.

Nevertheless, the fact that face-to-face communication is being replaced with online conversations using social media apps can have major downsides which overshadow these positive impacts. The most obvious issue could be that social media has impacted the quality of professional communication. Face-to-face touch permits proper emotional connections and deeper understanding. This can cause people to bring about a decline in significant interpersonal relationships and an experience of detachment from others. Another drawback worth mentioning is that social networking websites can become a toxic environment. This is because websites are becoming popular with more and more people, human beings can fall prey to online bullying and harassment, which result in serious mental effects, such as increased stress, anxiety, and loneliness.

In conclusion, despite the potential benefits of the way that social platform replaces face-to-face interaction, the drawbacks involved are of greater significance.