The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many people around the world are using social medias like Facebook or Twitter, to contact with their relatives or friends, instead of having a face-to-face contact. Because of some reasons, I think the advantages of this development do outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several factors making social medias connection more efficient rather than old ways of connections. Firstly, by improving technology and having access to the Internet and social medias, people being far away from their families because of imigration or their job, can have regular connection with them. For instance, my brother had immigrated three years ago and because of his economic situation, he could not afford to travel regularly to see his family, but by making video calls through social medias, he is keeping touch with us almost everyday. Secondly, these days, majority of the people are more busy compared to the past, and therefore, it is much easier for them to contact with their friends or families through the Internet, as by using this method of connection, they would not have to travel long ways in traffic jams to have a face-to-face contact with their relatives.

On the other hand, if people get use to make connection by means of social medias and they do not schedule to have some face-to-face contacts with their relatives, it will possibly results in some negative points. Primarily, not only will this affect the strength of their relations, but also they will lose the enjoy of a face-to-face contact with their loved-ones which is much more than a connection through social medias.

In conclusion, despite having some disadvantages like less-effective relations and less enjoyable contacts, In my opinion, the positive points of social medias are much more than its negatives, because of easier ways of connection and making a way for people who are away from their relatives to have a contact with them.