The use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

The utilization of CCTVs is rising in societies to decrease crime although several individuals consider that these steps are limiting people’s independence. This essay will suggest that addition of security in public sectors increase the comfort level of people and works as a evidence are the biggest benefits, but technical issues and high cost are the primary disadvantages.

The main advantages of installing cameras are comfort of people. They don’t think of their belongings while going out. For example, people go to shopping malls for shopping, they get busy in shopping while putting their personal stuff aside just because of CCTVs installed on their heads. They calmly enjoy their shopping without any fear of being robbed. Furthermore, recordings work as a proof as police can show the evidence rather than interrogating to criminals.

Despite these advantages, technical issues such as poor video quality is a drawback, connection lost during recordings of major events. However cozy is another issue, installing high cost cameras increase the budget. For instance, maintainance is so crucial and if cameras are being installed once and they get broken or stop working after few days of applied so no one will fix them because of high cost. For instance, a recent survey showed almost 58% people complaint in site office for fixing their street cameras as soon as possible.

In conclusion, cameras protect people from every type of crime. In case people think they limit their autonomy but still protective evidences are still higher to some extent.