The widespread adoption of digital personal assistants (like Alexa or Siri) is changing how people interact with technology. Do the advantages of reliance on these assistants outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more people rely on AI assistants for daily tasks. I believe that the advantages of relying on AI assistants outweigh the disadvantages. It is because assistance of the AI can improve life quality, but it also can make people lazy by executing simple things.

On the one hand, AI assistants benefitital to individuals by completing their daily routine faster and eficient. Especially to employees with big amount of work or artists who need big amount of time. AI can help them in various things like cleaning or even cooking. Because these simple tasks kill a lot of time that can be benefitial in more essential tasks. For example cooking kill approximately 2 or 3 hours daily, while personal assistants can make it faster. Thus, employees will spend more time with their family or chilling.

However, increased reliance on these assistants is said to impact critical thinking because, rather than interacting with a human with emotions, people interact with an Artificial Intelligence with little to no emotion. The use of these assistants reduces the amount of human interaction and increases laziness and lethargy. For example, the most fun part of planning a trip with friends comes during the earlier stages, when everyone is brainstorming, Leading to collection of data and finalizing the outing, while keeping in mind everyone’s budget, requirements and requests. It can reduce people’s analyzing ability by not thinking in doing simple tasks.

In conclusion, wide use of AI assistants make people life quality better, but it also can turn individuals lazy. However, I strongly believe that advantages outweight disadvantages.